Everything Read in 2018

A big old text post listing all the books I read in 2018! This includes mostly text-only books, novels, nonfiction, true crime, and works of fiction or analysis, and excludes comics or graphic novels (as I read so many of them every year I tend to not keep track!). All of these books were written about in my personal book diaries that I keep (top secret!) but many of them were written about on this blog too! So I’ll list month to month which books I read, and at the end I’ll announce the total and how many I want to read in 2019!

After each title I’ll write F for Fiction, NF for nonfiction/history, and TC for true crime.

January

Mr Atherstone Leaves the Stage – Richard Whittington-Egan (TC)
Columbine – Dave Cullen (TC)

February

The Beast is an Animal – Peternelle van Arsdale (F)
Tales of the Peculiar – Ranson Riggs (F)
Tinder – Sally Gardner (F)

March

The Scarlet Gospels – Clive Barker (F)
A Time to Dance, A Time to Die – John Walker (NF)
Dark Secrets of the Black Museum – Gordon Honeycombe (TC)
The Deep – Nick Cutter (F)
101 Movies to Watch Before You Die – Ricardo Cavolo (NF)
Crimson and Bone – Maria Fiorato (F)
A Trick I Learned from Dead Men – Kitty Aldridge (F)
The Death of King Arthur – Peter Ackroyd (F)

April

Hide Me Among the Graves – Tim Powers (F)
The Death House – Sarah Pinborough (F)
The Mad Sculptor – Harold Schechter (TC)
Christ’s Samurai – Jonathan Clements (NF)
Witches: James I & The English Witch Hunts – Tracy Borman (NF)

May

The Wicked Boy – Kate Summerscale (TC)
Zombie Apocalypse: Fightback – Stephen Jones, et al (F)
S. T. A. G. S. – M. A. Bennett (F)
Tokyo Hostess – Clare Campbell (TC)

June

When the Floods Came – Clare Morrall (F)
Consult the Oracle – Gabriel Nostradamus (NF)
The Loves of the Artists – Jonathan Jones (NF)
Pretty Jane and the Viper of Kidbrooke Lane – Paul Thomas Murphy (TC)
DIS MEM BER – Joyce Carol Oates (F)

July

Devil’s Wolf – Paul Doherty (F)
You Could Do Something Amazing With Your Life (You are Raoul Moat) – Andrew Hankinson (TC)
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth – Lindsey Lee Johnson (F)
The Poisoners – Marjorie Bowen (F)

August

A Perfect Crime – A Yi (F)
Happy Like Murderers: The True Story of Fred and Rosemary West – Gordon Burn (TC)
I Will Maintain (William & Mary Book 1) – Marjorie Bowen (F)
Plague Land (Oswald de Lacy Book 1) – S. D. Sykes (F)

September

Butcher Bird (Oswald de Lacy Book 2) – S. D. Sykes (F)
The Silent Companions – Laura Purcell (F)
Royal Renegades – Linda Porter (NF)
City of Masks (Oswald de Lacy Book 3) – S. D. Sykes (F)

October

The King’s Assassin – Benjamin Woolley (NF)
Jane Steele – Lyndsay Faye (F)

November

Defender of the Faith (William and Mary Book 2) – Marjorie Bowen (F)

December

The Last Royal Rebel: The Life and Death of James, Duke of Monmouth – Anna Keay (NF)
She-Wolves: The Notorious Queens of England – Elizabeth Norton (NF)

So that is….

44 BOOKS READ IN 2018! 

(Or 19 NF/TC and 25 F?)

I’m pretty sure that’s a record already for me! Some months I had lots of time to read, but the last few months I’ve been busy travelling and cross-stitching so you can see why the number dropped off some. March seemed to be my busiest month with eight books read!

Note: I’ve included links to all the books that got reviewed on here. Alas, May is empty of reviews as I was abroad for most of that month and by the time I got back I didn’t have time to review that month’s reads, so I promise you the links aren’t broken! I just never reviewed those books.

THIS YEAR I WANT TO READ 50 BOOKS ACROSS 2019! 

So you’ll have to wait until 2020 to see how that works out! (That sounds so far away…but it’s just next year??) (This post will seem so old someday soon haha!)

Have an amazing New Year, I hope you find lots of new books to try!

Leave a comment